Health & Wellness

Gluten-Free Diet Pros and Cons

What is a Gluten-Free Diet exactly? Gluten is a stretchy protein that remains after the starch from certain carbohydrates is removed during the digestive process. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and triticale (hybrid mix of rye and wheat). Gluten is also an additive to many foods. In addition, while oats are gluten-free themselves, they are almost always contaminated by contact gluten-containing grains during processing. The less obvious sources of Gluten are beer, some salad dressings, marinades and some sauces like teriyaki and soy.